About

Laine Cunningham’s novels interweave social, cultural, historical, political and spiritual movements that have occurred within different groups and at different times. These elements engage readers in discussions of how similar forces have changed or are changing the contemporary world … and what might be in our future. When individuals recognize how large issues build over time from multiple small steps, they recognize that everyone can foment change through their choices and their decisions.
Laine’s work has won multiple national awards, including the Hackney Literary Award and the James Jones Literary Society Fellowship. In past years, the Hackney Award was received by Horton Foote and William Styron, placing her in the ranks of Pulitzer Prize-winning authors.
She has received dozens of fellowships and residency slots from programs like the Jerome Foundation, the Vermont Studio Center, Wildacres Center for the Humanities, Arte Studio Ginestrelle in Assisi, Italy, and the Takt Kunstprojektraum in Berlin, Germany. In spring of 2017, she will be in residence for two months at Fusion Art in Turin, Italy. Four completed novels, one of which is the first in a series that is Station Eleven for historical readers, are available.
Several nonfiction books are available. These include Woman Alone, a memoir for fans of Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love and ​Cheryl Strayed’s ​Wild.
Laine Cunningham is an accomplished ghostwriter and publishing consultant with 20 years of experience. Visit WritersResource.us for available services for your nonfiction and fiction projects.
For regular updates on her work and to read essays, stories and excerpts of her existing and upcoming work before anyone else, join her through Patreon.